Day 176:making marks

Day 176 Feb 23 2016 Old Bar 8:50am P1040296doc

I have been asking many questions of myself in the collaboration process such as….Why do we create….and how do we create?

As I become the observer in the process I have noticed that the desire to create (for me) is driven by my appreciation of beauty. For example I noticed a stick in my wanderings this morning; stripped of its bark and smooth in form….. as I picked it up I admired its qualities and the feeling of it resting in my hand.

I continued to walk with the stick as my companion, in the next 200m my attention became focused on the ripples in the sand created by the wind overnight, a magnificent sight in the early morning. Kneeling down I used the stick to draw, mimicking the patterns I saw.

I have watched many young children in individual creative play do exactly the same thing…..maybe it is our subconscious longing to connect with all that is

I cannot explain how gratifying this play is for me……like I am allowing myself just to be in this moment (as a child would)….coming to know my surroundings and myself in the process……I am not aware of the desire to create…..I am just creating.

It makes me realise how often I am not aware of each moment……and with that thought…..how can I truly create?

Deep…..I know haha……and I struggle to find the words to explain my experiences, but I will continue to record them in the hope that all will become clearer with time.

May you enjoy each of your moments today and see the beauty all around you!

Alix

Leave a Reply

