A Design A Day – Week 9

Adventures are not always easy; they don’t always turn out how you think, and sometimes they expose your vulnerabilities.

But what is life without jumping off a cliff or two…. headfirst.

A dear friend contacted me this week to use my designs for their business. With a tight turnaround I was up for the challenge….and boy didn’t I learn some lessons quickly!

My design making is mobile so that I am present with my family and not holed up in my studio each day (I create my designs either early morning or at night due to full time work commitments through the day)

The one-a-day process is about being aware in my day, capturing a moment that inspires me, creating a pattern, then letting it go to move onto the next moment and the next pattern.

I enjoy the magic that happens during the creative process but this week I found out how difficult it is to recreate spontaneous designs for production.

Swapping out a colour here and there is not so easy without recreating the whole image again, which means time….something I was a little short of 🙂

Note to self…..when creating designs don’t lose the spontaneity of the moment but consider the bigger picture too!

Here are the designs for Week 9 You can also follow the daily posts on Instagram @ali.haigh

Leave a comment